The Flash: Rick Famuyiwa Exits Directors Chair


film-news-the-flash-rick-famuyiwa-exits-directors-chairThe Hollywood Reporter exclusively reports that Dope director Rick Famuyiwa has departed Warner Bros.’ big-screen adaptation of DC superhero The Flash over creative differences.

 

The report states that Famuyiwa’s departure will likely lead to a delay in the films production and cinematic release as leading role Ezra Miller has a commitment coming up in July. The Flash was in pre-production and was heading towards a March 2017 start date for shooting to commence, with the film set to be released on the 16th March 2018.

 

In a statement to THR, Rick Famuyiwa said:

When I was approached by Warner Bros. and DC about the possibility of directing The Flash, I was excited about the opportunity to enter this amazing world of characters that I loved growing up, and still do to this day. I was also excited to work with Ezra Miller, who is a phenomenal young actor. I pitched a version of the film in line with my voice, humour and heart. While it’s disappointing that we couldn’t come together creatively on the project, I remain grateful for the opportunity. I will continue to look for opportunities to tell stories that speak to a fresh generational, topical and multicultural point of view. I wish Warner Bros., DC, Jon Berg, Geoff Johns and Ezra Miller all the best as they continue their journey into the speed force.

 

This comes as a bit of a blow to me as I was thinking that Rick Famuyiwa could’ve had an interesting vision in mind for the big-screen adventures of Barry Allen and it’s a shame that he and the creative heads couldn’t meet on the same page. Should this not have been figured out previously when they brought Famuyiwa on board to replace  Seth Grahame-Smith? I’ll talk about that in a separate article.

 

The Flash has a cast so far that includes Ezra Miller, Kiersey Clemons and Billy Crudup.

Leave a Reply

